Skip to content

Our First Purim!

April 5, 2011

This was our first year celebrating Purim. We have wanted to start celebrating G-d’s feasts, but had only celebrated Pesach/Passover thus far. It was listening the fun that was had by some people we know in Arizona that spurred us on to try it this year.

One of the things we did for Purim was to watch One Night With the King. For a review of the movie go here.

We also watched some fun videos about Purim. Some of them were rather silly, but they were fun. You can find some here. Here is one for you to watch here if you want:

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Purim Play to End All Purim Plays! by Kosher Jo…
,

We also listened to some fun music. Here is an example:

Vodpod videos no longer available.
The Maccabeats – Purim Song

Of course, along with songs and videos and all around celebration, you have to have FOOD! Yummy food! With our tiny kitchen, I couldn’t tackle much, but I decided to try out Hamantashen. Hamantashen are three cornered cookies. The three corner shape is supposed to either represent a three cornered hat that Haman wore or his pointy ears. No one knows for sure…it is all in fun! Within the cookie, partially hidden is some kind of jam. For more about Hamantashen you can go here and here. For some recipes go here. If I recall correctly, the recipe I tried is here. I substituted butter for the margerine, whole wheat pastry flour for the white flour and used three different kinds of jams.

As you can see, I did not have much room. I also did not have a rolling pin, so I used an empty peanut butter jar. The hole in the top worked well for a cookie cutter!

Here they are…the first tray ready to go on the oven.

Here they are fresh out of the oven. As you can see, I need to work on the shaping a bit. (Hmmm…guess I will just have to practice a lot!) All three of us agreed that they turned out pretty yummy!

Part of Purim is to give gift basket of two kinds of prepared goodies. I did not have a basket, but I just used a bag. Yes…I gave a portion of our Hamantashen, along with a package of prepared cookies Dave had bought at the store. It was fun.

Dave read the book of Esther and Elias and I had fun drowning out the name of Haman every time it was read. Now I know why they have those noise makers!

It is also typical to wear costumes. We did not have any…but just wait until next year when we have time to plan! The costumes are worn to show that things are not always what they seem. Esther was certainly not what she appeared to be.

We are also supposed to give to at least two poor people…or at least purpose to as soon as possible. Our deciding last minute to celebrate meant that we missed the fast for one day prior to Purim. The fast was to commemorate the three days of fasting done by Esther and the Jewish people. I did, however, give up chocolate until sundown. (Hey…that is pretty big for me!) After that…party! Purim is a fun time of celebrating what G-d did through Esther for His people.

Did you know that G-d is not mentioned in the whole book? He moved by stealth on behalf of His people. Things truly aren’t what they seem to be!

The name “Purim” means “lots”. Haman cast lots to figure out which was the most advantageous day to have the Jews killed. I guess his lots must have been broken! Ha ha.

There is so much more than can be learned about Purim. I hope that I have given enough of a taste of it to whet your appetite to go learn more.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

