Skip to content

Kitty Is Doing Well!

April 2, 2011

We have been concerned about our pregnant kitty. The L-rd brought her to us and we want to keep her safe. We had started letting her come in during the day, but never let her stay in at night. We did not know if she would use a litter box or not since she was always going outside.

As she has become very big and ungainly in her pregnancy, we knew she was becoming more and more vulnerable to predators. One morning, she came to us with a wound on her forehead. That did it! From that night on, she stayed in at night. We tended to the wound with the help of the Animal Shelter (G-d bless them!) and she healed up just fine.

We fixed up a litter box for her, but she has never used it. She just waits until morning. I am amazed at how little she seems to need to go. She stays in for long periods of time during the day and then all night long, but she has never had an “accident”.

A few nights ago, she threw up. That was not good. This happened two nights in a row and then one time while we were gone. It appeared that she had gorged herself given the amount of food she threw up. We asked around and were given different things to check with her to try to figure out what was going on.

We always make sure she has plenty of water so she is not dehydrated. We also started giving her little portions of food so that she could not over eat. We give her little portions…often. She does not always finish them, but she is not throwing up any more. I suspect it might have had something to do with her drinking more water than we thought leaving her water dish empty a few days ago.

The people at the animal shelter said she looks good. They figure she has a week or two to go before delivering. Life is going to get even more interesting if she delivers before we make it into Beit-shalom! We are trying to find a large carrier/kennel we can use inside in case we have to leave her for an extended period of time…especially as the time draws nearer.

Kitty is a beautiful cat who appears to be a manx. I found it funny how strange a regular cat at a neighbor’s house looked to me after getting so used to seeing our kitty. She has a stubby tail…about an inch and a half long…especially if you measure the fur! The actual tail is pretty short, but the fur makes it look longer.

You can see how big she is getting! She actually “waddles” a bit when she walks.

This was taken on March 24th. The wound is looking a lot better than it was, but is now all black…albeit still a bit bald.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn Phenix permalink
    April 2, 2011 10:21 PM

    What a blessing to have a kitty. I’m/we’re so allergic I can’t have one.

    • April 4, 2011 7:57 PM

      I am a bit allergic. The key for me is to keep them on the floor and away from my face. I wash my hands a lot and use a lint roller on my clothes after holding her. Actually, though, she does not really seem to be bothering me much. For me, cat allergies consist mostly of a nose that won’t stop itching. Drives me nuts. But I have not had that happen yet with her…probably because I am so careful. She stays off the furniture…which is huge.

  2. April 3, 2011 8:18 AM

    I hope she does ok with her delivery! Keep us posted. : )

    • April 4, 2011 7:58 PM

      Thanks, hon. I will! I will definitely take photos…when it is not intrusive to her.

  3. April 3, 2011 11:10 PM

    Same here, I have had allergies to animals since I was kid. Being brought up on a farm made my life miserable. I also developed asthma which was trigged by the allergies. On the farm we always had cats and a couple of dogs. I am very thankful for modern medication which help to relieve the symptoms. Cats are pretty easy care creatures. Just feed, water and dump the litter box daily. They are good company plus they great for keeping the rodents under control. Esp a female that has a litter of kittens. The old Tom cats were too lazy to chase rodents. They just like to eat and sleep and prowl all night. Heh! That describes my life. LOL
    Good luck with the kitties.
    God Bless

    • April 4, 2011 7:59 PM

      Thanks, Byron. Gosh, I guess that must have been miserable! I don’t know if a litter box makes any difference with allergies. We are trying to get her to use one. She just holds it and holds it and holds it…and then runs outside. She is a pretty amazing kitty. And so sweet spirited!

Leave a Reply

