Skip to content

He Never Ceases to Amaze Me!

March 30, 2011

My G-d provides! We had a water heater donated last year for Beit-Shalom. It was part of a two heater inline system and was really just used for storing water…not heating it. Well, as we started to put it in (finally), it turned out that it had been modified in a way that made it unusable for our purposes. The donator did not know this.

When we had first put out the call for one, another family had mentioned that they had upgraded to a bigger one and we could have it. Since we had the other one, we thanked them and explained that we did not need it. But then on Sunday, we realized we did not have one. So, I put the call out again.

It turns out that this couple STILL had it! They offered it to us again. So we put out the word that we DID have a water heater. We were all ready for them to bring it over when we got smart and had them measure the diameter. Theirs was twice the capacity and three inches bigger in diameter than the one we were going to use. Yeah…you guessed it…it is too big and won’t fit in the space allotted. Soooooo…I put the word out again!

There is still a bit of money left in the house fund, so Craig met us at the store and was able to talk down the price of a water heater for us. We got it for a really GOOD price!! It is now sitting in Beit-Shalom…albeit not installed…yet. Yippee!!

We didn’t have one. We had one. We didn’t have one. We had one. We didn’t have one. WE HAVE ONE!!!! Were you able to keep up with all that????

Sometimes it feels like forever until we get in. Yet, I can see everything coming closer. We keep running into obstacles and, one by one, they get resolved. Sometimes that resolution means more work…and more time. But that is OK. It IS working out!

So I am dreaming of water heater tonight…and rejoicing in my spirit. Thank You, Abba!

Oh…and two families offered to help pay for a new one when they found out the donated ones were not going to work. Tell me that Yahweh does not provide!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn Phenix permalink
    March 30, 2011 11:57 PM

    That is great news! Can’t wait to see it. Hey, a new hot water heater is a beautiful thing!

    • March 31, 2011 12:10 AM

      It sure is!!! We are working off of a 6 gallon now. I am so ready to be done with short trickle showers! Although, I am also very GRATEFUL to have had it! I remember when I first stopped using the RV park showers. At the time, the privacy and “convenience” of not having to leave my RV to shower was WONDERFUL!

  2. Joelle permalink
    March 31, 2011 2:03 AM

    This past fall I really needed a water heater, and I only have space for a small one, and God provided on on Craigslist for $25 that would normally be around $200 new. And it works great! I love how He provides what we need when we need it. 🙂

    • Joelle permalink
      March 31, 2011 2:05 AM

      Oh yeah, mine is a 6 gallon one, too. I do have to be creative with my usage, too, but it sure beats not having hot water. 🙂

      • March 31, 2011 1:35 PM

        It definitely beats not having hot water. When we had to replace ours, we got one that was dual heat…propane and electric. The first one was propane only. It was also only a 5 gallon. We noticed the difference with the added electric and added gallon. Still…it was short showers or extreme trickle. In the winter, when the air was colder and the water coming in colder…the showers were even shorter. Summertime was much better!

  3. March 31, 2011 4:53 AM

    Just think of all the experience and knowledge you are getting. Just make sure that when the water heater is installed that it has a working relief valve properly installed. And have the plumbing air pressure tested overnight before you turn the water on. A pin size leak esp. in the hot water line can put out a lot of water overnight. A bit of my experience and knowledge learned. And make sure the stove is turned off and nothing setting on top of it that could catch fire when the power is turned on. That is if you have an electric stove. I connected a water heater one time in a three story apt bldg. The owner requested that when I had finished to turn the water on to fill the tank so it could heat up. I asked him if the plumbing was finished in the bldg. He assured me that it was and that all fixtures had been installed and the system air pressure tested for leaks. It was around 10:30 in the evening when I finished getting the water pump and heater connected. So, I turned the pump on got the pressure up and opened the valve to fill the water heater. Of course I had to open the outlet valve on top of the tank to let the air out. I was waiting for the tank to finish filling. I had opened a tap in one of the lower apts to clear the air from the water line. About ten to fifteen minutes passed after the tank had filled. I shut the valve off in the sink on the bottom floor. All of a sudden there was a waterfall coming down through the floor over my head. I shut the valves off and ran up stairs to the second floor and checked all of the taps. They were all shut off. I ran up to the third floor and started checking the apts. It was a six unit bldg with with two units on each floor. The first apt checked out, no leaks. I got to the last apt and when I got to the bathroom there I found the leak. There was an open ended pipe under the sink. No shutoff valve. The water had soaked from the top floor right to the basement. I just packed up and went home. I got to the bldg the next morning just about the time the owner and the plumbers were arriving. Apparently the plumbers were short one shut off valve and just left the pipe open till they returned the next day to install it. Well, that’s one of many stories from my years of working around construction and building. The moral of the story, don’t take somebody’s word for it that everything is installed and ready. Check it out yourself before you turn the water or electric on.
    Glad to hear that things are coming together with the house. Just a hint: install a water saver shower head, well worth the cost for the hot water it saves.
    God Bless

    • March 31, 2011 1:39 PM

      Thanks, teddybear! We have a neighbor who is a professional plumber. He is taking good care of us and is very efficient and knowledgeable…another wonderful blessing from the L-rd!

      Good point about the stove top! I will make sure all no one had “bumped” any burner knobs and/or left anything on top when it gets plugged in!

Leave a Reply

