Skip to content

The Time Is Drawing Closer!

March 24, 2011

The time is drawing closer for a very big change in our lives. Beit-Shalom is coming closer to being fit to move into. There will still be finish work to do and assorted odds and ends, but it will be livable!

Elias has been working hard on getting the rest of the current septic pipe dug up so that Dave can connect it to the pipe running from Beit-Shalom. This weekend the plumber is planning on the doing the pressure testing of the water and getting it and the septic going.   That will be a big step forward and it mean that I will then have water to start cleaning the place up a bit.

The kitchen cabinets are installed and I have shelf liner on the bottom ones. I have already started working on the upper cabinets. We are not sure why, but none of the lower cabinets have a shelf in them. Very odd. Is this the new thing with cabinets? Dave will find a way to add more shelves later. The counter-tops are ordered and, if I do say so myself, I think they will be beautiful!

We still have sheet-rock to finish, a little bit of wiring, installing of fire/smoke alarms, steps to build outside three of the doors and other assorted odds and ends. But we are SO close!

I was going to tar the uphill side foundation wall, but the weather did not hold. Right now, the water runs down the hillside and right through the block foundation and under the house. So, we will tar the block, add a plastic covering and then bury it with dirt. That will keep the water from running under the house and allow it to dry out.

There are different emotions surrounding this upcoming change. Things we will be able to do that we have not been able to do for a very long time…over five years. How long that seems is really a matter of perspective. From my point of view it is really only 1/11th of my lifetime…not very long when you really think about it. From Elias’ perspective, though, it is almost 1/3rd. He will be 15 in a few months. Wow! Already! He has at least doubled in size while living in the RV!

This was taken in March of 2006.

This was taken at the end of last December.

Wow! What a difference!

So this change is coming. It is just around the bend and I am in awe of what is to come. There is so much on my heart regarding this, but I think I will save that for another post.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 9:15 PM

    What great photos! Love to see the change over time. Amazing how fast kids can grow. : )

  2. Dawn Phenix permalink
    March 24, 2011 9:44 PM

    Elias went from a boy to a man, it looks like. Can’t wait to see pix of the house.

    • March 25, 2011 12:01 AM

      Yes…he sure did! First milestone was topping Mom. Second was topping Dad.

  3. Joelle permalink
    March 25, 2011 5:46 PM

    What an exciting change! I know living in the RV has been hard, but if you hadn’t, I probably wouldn’t have “met” you through my internet search. 🙂

    • March 30, 2011 11:39 PM

      This is true!!! I am glad that we “met”!! Hope you are doing well. The cold weather is almost over!

  4. April 1, 2011 12:00 PM

    I’ve just been visiting various areas of your blog and finding out about your adventures of living in a small RV for so long. Goodness — what an experience. But it truly is in the difficult times that we see God so closely. Seeing the photos of your son’s growth reminds me of my own boys – currently 17 & 16. They’re both much taller than me now, andI’m not short – around 5’8″. How exciting that you’re getting so close to moving into more space. What a blessing as the Lord bring this new home together for you and your family. I’ve added you to my prayer door and will be following the progress.

    Hugs & Blessings,
    Dianne {Godwin – from FB}

    • April 1, 2011 10:03 PM

      Thanks for coming by, Dianne! Please share about your prayer door. That sounds interesting! I am always excited to hear what our Abba is doing!

Leave a Reply

