Skip to content

Bad Food or How Old Was That?

December 5, 2010

Well, Dave has been after me to keep some kind of list of what is in the freezer. I have resisted doing that. Partly it is because I am not the only one who puts food away, but I bet I would be the only one maintaining the list. I know that probably sounds unfair, but I am simply being a realist.

Actually, one of the biggest reasons is because there is no real handy place to put such a list. That, though, will be changing…hopefully soon! Right now we have a small RV fridge, plus two outdoor fridges in two different locations. Keeping track is difficult. Add to that the fact that the one fridge quits when it gets too cold outside. That is a good way to lose food we found out.

The bad food I am referring to today, though, is not the stuff in the freezer. It is called “leftovers”. You know, the stuff that gets put into containers and baggies and stuck in the fridge behind who knows what. I keep telling myself that I need to write dates on the baggies or on masking tape affixed to the containers. Do I remember? NO! Until I end up with a night like last night.

Yesterday I ate a turkey burger that really should not have been eaten. I spent part of the night up because of it. Ugh! When I wrote about it on Facebook, Carrie (City Songbird) Pazdziora gave me a link to the blog of one of her friends who just happened to write about tracking leftovers. Her friends, Jenna, has a good idea…so long as everyone pitches in. You can read about it here: The Leftovers Tracking Device.

During this season when so much “extra” food tends to get eaten, I hope you all keep track of your leftovers and stay safe. I would hate to think of anyone being up at night feeling like I did. Thankfully, this was a very minor case compared to what we all went through some time ago.

Here is another view from our house in process.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 11:12 PM

    Good idea about tracking leftovers. Fortunately, our crew empties the fridge every other day so it is never a problem. Now at my mother-in-law’s house, we laugh that they are doing scientific food testing with some of the stuff in the back of their fridge.

    • December 9, 2010 8:12 AM

      For the most part, we are past the science experiments in the fridge, but we have pushed the date limit a bit. Most of it is simply because I don’t remember when I put it in there. I need to do SOMEthing to keep track!

  2. Byron aka Teddybear permalink
    December 9, 2010 3:46 AM

    I watched a program on TV once about leftovers and such in the fridge and freezer. The main message was: If in doubt, throw it out!. Better to lose some food than to get sick. I use a black marker to mark on the lids the date things are put into the fridge or freezer. If it is over three day in the fridge it goes into the garbage or compost. I have a chart which lists how long things can be kept in the fridge freezer and in a deep freezer. I also have fridge and freezer thermometers in both so I can see if the temperature is low enough to keep the food at low enough temperature. I have had sickness from bad food=not much fun at all, especially when you have only one bathroom and more than two people needing to go at the same time. That’s enough information to give you the picture 🙂
    By the way:
    MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY FROM ME AND MY HONEY BRENDA

    • December 9, 2010 8:15 AM

      Thanks, Byron. I have known for a long time that I needed to keep better track of our food, but after getting sick…twice…I am a bit more motivated. The worst was when all three of us got sick at the same time. Thankfully, Dave got hit first and was a bit better by the time Elias and I got it. We, too, have only one bathroom. 😛

      Merry Christmas to you and Brenda, too!

    • December 9, 2010 11:17 AM

      Hey, Byron, I know it is a little late, but congrats on the 25 years. I would have commented on your blog, but you don’t allow name/url comments. 🙂

  3. Theresa permalink
    December 9, 2010 7:32 AM

    Wow…the house is really moving along..and I can picture how it will be so clearly and it will be just amazing and perfect! Your land is so awesome..and to sit and look out the windows of your new home and see nature all around is totally awesome!
    Love ya Sis!

    • December 9, 2010 8:19 AM

      I look forward to that time, sis! It might not happen until January at this point, but I keep praying for it to happen soon.

      Love you, too!

Leave a Reply

