Skip to content

My Laptop and Other Stuff!

November 19, 2010
tags:

My laptop came back with problems. So, off it goes again as soon as a new box comes. They are very nice about it, and apologetic, too. I am nice about it, too. However, there are things near and dear to my heart that I am unable to do until it gets back…fixed. My son’s laptop will not run the programs I most need…not without bogging it down even more than it is now.

Elias is sick. Poor guy. He is not sick enough to sleep, but not really well enough to stay up. He does get up and do things, but he also needs to rest.

I  have made a decision. Living in this RV is costing me in my health. It is very difficult to do the things I need to do in order to regain what I have lost. I have been biding my time until we can get into a house, but I can no longer afford to wait. It can be easy to fall into an “all or nothing” mentality, but I must not let that happen. I must do what I can while I am still in here.

I was working out in here, but a long time ago, Dave expressed concern about the floor weakening and me falling through. Well, I cannot put it off.  I am going to work out in this tiny space. It is not like I am doing anything huge. I can’t. I am so unfit right now that all I can do is little bits of things. I need to build up so that I can walk up the driveway without having to stop partway.

I am also going to eat healthier, even though we don’t really have much space to make healthier meals. Although I cannot do all I want/need to do, I can make some choices. I can pay more attention to what, and how much, I am eating. My changing metabolism (due to getting older) has caught me off guard.

The biggest single thing, I think, that has affected my health is not having a scale to use every day. There is a range of weight fluctuation that I always tried to stay within. If I started to go above that, I knew I needed to either be more active or pay more attention to what I was eating. When I stop weighing myself, the weight starts to creep up. It has happened before and I had to lose the weight…which I did. Now I am there again, even higher, and I need to do it again. I have no place to really put a scale to help, so I just need to do it.

There is so much to do in between the workdays that it gets overwhelming at times for Dave. We know we are in a spiritual battle and we can feel the presence of the enemy trying to discourage us and stop us. In many ways, we are helpless. We are not builders and there is only so much that Dave can do, especially while also looking for work. With Elias being sick, he has lost his helper.

Please, those of you who are reading, pray for us. We want so keep our eyes on Yahweh…on what He wants to do in all of this. There are times when we feel the walls closing in and our circumstances seem huge, but we know that He is bigger still than all of that. He has always provided in some way. He will continue to do so!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joelle permalink
    November 19, 2010 3:54 PM

    I fully understand where you are coming from! I’ve gained a lot of weight over the last 3 years from the stress of the divorce, kids, and school and I am having trouble with my new tiny kitchen to be able to make healthier foods, since it usually takes a lot of prep work. I’ve been trying to increase my exercise, but since I’m trying to do it outdoors the weather factors in on whether I get it done or not.

    Anyway, I sympathize with your struggles! 🙂 And I know with Yahweh’s help we can do it!

    • November 19, 2010 4:12 PM

      Thanks for coming by, Joelle. Yes, with Yahweh’s help we can do it! He will get us through all things. I do relate to the weather making it difficult to do much outside. And I so get the small space for prep. I also run into not having the room for all the various ingredients for cooking from scratch…in addition to not having any counter space.

Leave a Reply

