Skip to content

A Lawyer & Assorted Odds and Ends

May 26, 2010

We had a lawyer recommended to us for our neighbor problem. Once we know what our rights are…we can decide if there is anything we need to do. We are not desiring to do anything really. However, sometimes, the decision to do nothing is actually a decision that can bite you later. It can imply things we do not want to imply. So, hopefully, we will be in conversation with said lawyer really soon.

It has been very hot and muggy here. I would say the hot weather is upon us. We finally broke down yesterday and located the window A/C unit we had been using. We were in the process of cleaning it all out when the freon line accidentally got punctured. Boy those things are THIN! Anyway…we figured we were just not going to get any cold air. It was either that or spend money we really needed to spend on other things on a new one.

Well…we put the word out and, lo and behold, we are picking up a used unit tomorrow. It was sitting in someone barn…not being used. I imagine we will have to clean it…which is totally fine with us. We are very grateful to have it!

In other news…I had paper jam in my printer today…twice in a row…for no discernible reason. Well…now the heads need to be cleaned…especially the black. However, my printer won’t let me clean them because one of the cartridges is too low. Usually, I have spare cartridges. I am pretty religious about that. Not this time, though. I have a yellow one, but it needs a cyan. I am going to print everything in cyan now because I HATE to throw away ink. Then…if I don’t have a cyan by then, I will try putting in the only spare I have…yellow! I wonder if it will know. I bet it will tell me I have the wrong color in there! We’ll see.

My right foot decided to swell up a bit. I have no idea why. I don’t see any bites. No itching. No pain. Just a little bit of swelling. I don’t recall ever having that happen before. I’ll keep an eye on it.

The blender has been getting a lot of use lately. Fruit smoothies are yummy…especially when it is so hot! Tonight, I also tried just putting in ice and water and a little bit of lemon juice. It was an attempt to make a slushy kind of drink. It did not work exactly like I was hoping…but it is good. And in my insulated “coffee” mug, it is staying icy for quite a while.

We had a fan that did not like to start up. It would barely creep along until finally, with a little coaxing, we could get it going. Dave took it apart. It had basically started rusting…so he he cleaned it out and lubricated it. Boy…does it start so nicely now! If the other fan starts acting up…he’ll just have to repeat that performance.

My guy…he is so handy. He also used JB Weld recently to fix my dryer knob. I cannot believe they make those things out of plastic. Well…yes I can. Have you ever priced a replacement? What a racket? It took a few tries, but he recently got it to work and it is now on the dryer…permanently, I think. I am SO glad I don’t have to use pliers anymore to change the dryer setting!

I guess that about wraps it up for now. I don’t think I ever took a photo of our home made A/C stand. Oh, well…maybe soon. So, instead, I will leave you with this photo.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 12:13 AM

    Sounds like a lot going on there.

    I hope the used a/c works out, and neighbor probs. can be very frustrating. I hope yours ends quickly.

    • May 26, 2010 9:22 AM

      Thanks, Slamdunk! I am confident that all things will work out…eventually. We just need to make sure we are being smart. It is not our desire to pursue anything…just to make sure we are not inadvertently giving up rights due to inaction. And who knows how the L-rd may use this…especially our lack of vindictiveness. Maybe it will actually touch our neighbors’ hearts…if not the ones who are doing this…then maybe other observing neighbors.

      We don’t want a fight. However, if they do, then we will defend ourselves. This is a pattern, sadly, with people coming from the next state over into our county. They come in with money and then try to shove the poor people out. So, who knows? Maybe we are meant to fight and send a message to the others who want to come here with those kinds of intentions. Our township trustee says this kind of thing is very common with people from that particular state.

      Hubby is on his way to pick up the A/C unit. Woohoo!

  2. Sara permalink
    May 26, 2010 9:04 AM

    Continuing to pray for you with this neighbor/lawyer issue. God can take what the enemy means to bring pain and discouragement and bring His good and purposes. Hope you are able to remain in His grace and hope through this!

    love,
    Sara

    • May 26, 2010 9:29 AM

      Hey, Sara! So glad you came by! I so hear you about how life works…especially in the spiritual realm. This whole thing causes us to pray for our neighbors…a lot more than we were. Perhaps this is what it took? I know I was pretty complacent about that. 😦

      Our neighbor is more of an annoyance than anything. Hopefully, we will have our answers soon and, hopefully, no action will need to be taken. We will see. I spent yesterday writing out all the details for the lawyer to take a look at. Whatever happens, I know our L-rd’s purposes will be accomplished. That is a comforting thought in all of this. At least I am no longer triggered by the barbed wire being there. 🙂

  3. Luke permalink
    May 26, 2010 12:27 PM

    It will know. There are chips in the ink cartridges so that it can verify that you have the right colors inserted.

    • May 26, 2010 12:45 PM

      I figured as much. Well…blue printing…here we go. I guess I will have to break down and buy a blue cartridge. Actually, I need at least one spare of each one. Too bad the yellow does not run out as fast!

  4. emily l. :) permalink
    May 26, 2010 5:27 PM

    I hope the swelling of your foot goes down. My foot swelled a little yesterday…then later it itched like crazy so I, being SO intelligent, rubbed my foot with a comb then rubbed hand sanitizer into it. Ha ha. : P
    Have a great day!! 🙂
    -emily l. (:

    • May 26, 2010 7:24 PM

      Oh, no!! You didn’t!!! Yikes! Man…I have gotten that stuff on just little nicks in the skin and it HURTS!!!

      The swelling is definitely less…although not completely gone. I have no idea what it is from.

      Take care, Emily! Oh…and Happy Birthday! I hear you have one coming up! 🙂

  5. emily l. :) permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:42 PM

    My birthday is tomorrow, actually…thank you!! (:
    -emily (:

Leave a Reply

