Skip to content

A Secret Encourager

April 11, 2010

I have a secret encourager through our home school group. She gave me this beautiful flower. Knowing that I live in a tiny RV, she made sure it was a tiny plant in a tiny planter. It actually survived the trip home!

I am not notorious for being able to keep this kind of flower alive. Yet…here it is…still going strong. I had to pinch off the leaves that hung over the mug because they kept getting bumped in our tiny space. Although there are no flowers left, it does have new growth. I have been told they don’t bloom all year, so maybe I just gave up too soon on previous plants. I don’t know.

I really like my plant. It is a daily reminder that someone is out there praying for me. That is comforting. It is kind of like all the beauty of nature that reminds me of how much my heavenly Abba loves me and watches over me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    April 11, 2010 10:41 PM

    The African Violet will go through periods where there are no flowers. However, it will bloom again. They are a beautiful flower. African Violets do better if you can water it from the bottom. My mom always use to tell me this as a child. My cousin says they do well in a south window. We also learned that they do not like soft water.

    This spring I will be looking for wild rose bushes. So far I have not managed to keep one that I had alive, but I want at least one. Their fragrance is so sweet that it stops me in my tracks, yet it looks so simple and ordinary. Not only is this my favorite flower, it was my dad’s favorite flower as well.

    • April 11, 2010 10:55 PM

      Thank you, Cindy. As this is in a little cup, I can’t really water it from the bottom. So, I try to put the water down the side. I also try not to over water it. I have heard that can cause the roots to rot, especially since there is no real drainage. I am amazed at how well it is doing. I wonder if I should get some kind of plant food for it.

      I hope you can find the rose bushes you like. They can be so pretty.

Leave a Reply

