Skip to content

Almost Spring Doings!

March 14, 2010

Spring is almost here. The snow is gone and the river is high. The nights are no longer below freezing, although that could change. The days are much warmer. A couple of weeks ago I bagged up my heavy winter coat and put it inside the car that is not running. That car has become something of a storage area.

Kitty disappeared during the winter and has not returned. That makes me very sad. I kept holding on to the idea that he was just hiding out somewhere warmer for awhile…like he did last year. But he should have returned by now. When do you give up and actually mourn the loss?

We caught the raccoon that was getting into our bins. We wanted to release it somewhere, but a conservation officer we know said not to. He said releasing it was frowned upon because it would just become a nuisance to others.

The washing machine quit during the winter. The water in it froze solid. The water is no longer frozen, but we need to siphon it out. Someone is giving us another washer and is willing to get it out here for us. What a blessing!

Dave has been sick…but is feeling a bit better. Elias started to feel really badly while at the laundromat today. He is in bed…sleeping…which tells us he is sick. I am not feeling all that well myself and just slept for two and half hours. I forced myself up to do banking and figured I would kick off this post while I am still vertical.

We have inherited the top cabinets for a kitchen plus a cabinet for a double built-in oven…or so I am told. I have not seen them, but the guys helped move them into our neighbors’ barn.  No word, yet, on when the block will be laid on the foundation. That is the next step. I am so looking forward to getting out of here. It is times like these, when there is sickness, that the lack of space hits even harder. I have dreams, but I am trying to let them go. Whatever happens, I will be grateful. For more on Beit-Shalom go here.

We went to dinner at another family’s home on Friday evening. They have four children still living at home and I know Elias enjoyed it as much as we did.

Now…for a random photo:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. susie permalink
    March 14, 2010 10:33 PM

    love the random photo! 🙂

  2. emily l :) permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:01 PM

    I LOVE YOUR RANDOM PHOTO!!!!!!!!!!!! (: Frogs are SO cute, that’s one of the many things I miss about Florida ( there are frogs everywhere, of all kinds, all year round (: )

    Hope you all feel better soon,
    -emily (:

    • March 15, 2010 8:17 PM

      Thank you, Emily. We enjoyed visiting with your family Friday evening. 🙂 I have more frog photos…of live frogs. Perhaps I will get some of them up soon. 😉

Leave a Reply

