Skip to content

Love, Sweet Love!

February 14, 2009

It was 15 years ago today that my Honey asked me to marry him. Well, he did not put it quite that way. 🙂 I will tell you the story.

We both took off work. I knew the question was coming…it was just a matter of when. I wondered if it would be that day, so I was excited with anticipation, yet prepared to have to wait, too.

He came by to pick me up, bringing balloons and flowers and goodies. Then he whisked me off to his work to introduce me to some people. There was a very special woman he worked with named Bobbie. She was a sort of mother hen type who had been watching over him. He told her that I was his girlfriend. She was, of course, ecstatic to meet me. Thankfully, she liked me! 😉

Then it was off for a drive up the coast to his mom’s  so that I could meet her and her boyfriend (now husband) for the first time. We had a really pleasant meeting and time together before we continued up the coast for dinner.

On the way up, we stopped at Greyhound Rock. To get to the rock you had to climb down to the beach. The rock juts out into the ocean. Up and over the top we went and slightly down the other side, facing the water. We carefully perched ourselves there…Dave against one wall of rock and me against Dave. It was beautiful. The weather was perfect.

I love the ocean and the sound of the waves on the rocks. I found out later that he had been praying about the best place and way to ask. When we first set out, he was planning on asking me later at the restaurant. However, as we sat there just soaking in the sunshine, the breeze and the waves, he felt that nudge inside that told him THIS was the perfect time and place for me…which it was.

As I sat with him, he suddenly leaned forward and said my name, followed by: “I want you to be my Best Friend, my Confidant, my Lover and my Wife.  Will you marry me?” Now, you gotta figure that I knew something was up the minute he started…and when he said “lover”, I knew “wife” had to follow!

I sat there for a few seconds, cherishing and storing the words within my heart and pondering the best response. I told him back that I would be honored to be his Best Friend, to be his Confidante, to be his Lover and to be his Wife. Even today, we often sign things “Your B.F., C., L & H(or W)”.

We went to Sinbad’s restaurant on the bay and looked out across the water at the San Francisco Bay Bridge. After climbing around Greyhound Rock, I was not exactly dressed for the restaurant, but we did not care. We sat there in the restaurant, looking over the water at the San Francisco Bay Bridge.  It was a day that I will never forget.

On the way home, we stopped by his mom’s again. He told her that he wanted to introduce someone to her. She just looked at him like he was crazy, since he had already introduced me to her. Well, this time he introduced me as his fiancee. She was one happy mama. She said that she had thought there was something up when we had come by earlier.

The next day, he went to work and told Bobbie that I was no longer his girlfriend. After she was suitably shocked, he shared that I was now his fiancee.  She was very excited for him.

Dave was almost 42 and never been married. I was a single mom with two children who had been through a very difficult marriage. Friends and family on both sides were rejoicing with us as they found out about our engagement. They were both relieved and ecstatic.

Later, when we were married, the church was filled with people who enjoyed a rather unusual ceremony…but that is another story.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2009 11:38 AM

    What a wonderful story! It brought tears to my eyes. I wish I had been saved when I ask my better half to marry me. But I’m glad she smartened up and told me she could not marry me because I was not a Christian. This crisis sent me the Lords arms.

    • February 14, 2009 11:54 AM

      Good for her! That shows that her relationship to Yahweh was real. She was willing to give you up for His sake. Awesome! I am glad that you really went to His arms. There are some who only sort of do it…going through the motions…and then after the wedding it is back to life as usual. How very sad for those people.

  2. February 14, 2009 12:10 PM

    Heh. Yeah, I oughta ask her permission to write about what led her up to calling me up and telling me she couldn’t marry me. Its really a God thing. But kind of personal. I doubt she would mind, knowing her, but its polite. (she taught me that). 🙂

    Yes, she really loves God, even if she was not discipled for many years and was a baby Christian. She still knew how to listen to, and obey, her Lord.

    She had her doubts when I converted, let me tell you. But I didn’t have any. Of course, the only thing I knew about Christianity was that Jesus was the Son of God, the Savior, and the Lord, plus the Bible was supposed to be the manual for life. But she hung around anyway. I guess I convinced her, because we were married about 2 months after that.

    • February 14, 2009 12:14 PM

      You’ve got me smiling! She sounds like quite a lady!

  3. February 14, 2009 12:24 PM

    Oh, she is! I’ve been blessed.

  4. February 23, 2009 9:58 PM

    Hi, it has been a while. This entry was very touching and sort of gives me some hope and that is rare for me. Sounds like a very special day, no doubt you will never forget it. You are truly blessed, you both are 🙂

    Love,

    A.

    • February 23, 2009 10:17 PM

      I have missed you, my friend. I hope that you are OK. love and hugs, Abigail

Trackbacks

  1. An Anniversary & Home School Co-op! « Little RV on the Hillside

Leave a Reply

