Skip to content

Floor Insulation or What’s That Blue Stuff?

January 16, 2009

Yesterday evening I started to lay down foam insulation on the floor of our RV. Dave was picking up more sheets, but I started with what we already had here.

First, I had to clear the floor area and vacuum the carpet. Then I had to measure the floor and cut the piece. This particular area of floor is a little bit tricky. It is not an exact rectangle and I did not want to have to put extra pieces in if I could avoid it.

shape-of-kitchen-floor-20090116-002

Last year, we had the print side up, instead of the solid blue. Dave did it that time. I had decided that, if we were still here the next winter, to make sure it went blue side up. Well, you guessed it. I didn’t do that. So, the kitchen area has the print side up.

kitchen-floor-insulation-20090115-001

This view is from the bathroom. The drawer is out and the hair dryer is there because that is how we unfroze the hot water line that runs to the bathroom. I mention that in the previous post.

The bathroom, which Dave did when he got home…has the blue side up. Naturally! Actually, I think he was just being nice since I had mentioned to him that I really did not like the print side up. This time I said it BEFORE he started cutting. He’s a sweet guy! The rest will be blue side up.

bathroom-floor-insulation-20090115-003

So much for matching decor! There’s those boots again. Hey, they are blue, too! Maybe that can be part of my decorating plan!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 1:31 AM

    The Australian Government has released it’s information about their Free Insulation Rebate for more information on the criteria see FREE INSULATION
    or download it here
    Free Insulation Guidelines

    • March 23, 2009 10:08 AM

      Thank you, Mark. Although I do not live in Australia, I did approve your comment in case one of my readers does live there. I hope the link can be useful to them!

Trackbacks

  1. Plastic & a Heating Pad! « Little RV on the Hillside
  2. Long Term RV Living – Inside Insulation,Condensation & Icy Windows « Little RV on the Hillside

Leave a Reply

