Skip to content

The Call to Dunkirk or… Why I Teach My Son at Home!

December 30, 2008

There is a reason I home school my son. Actually, there is more than one reason, starting with the fact that I see Yahweh telling me as a parent that I am teach my children…all the time and every where.

Deu 6:7  You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.

I cannot do that in the manner in which He directs if I turn my son over to someone else for huge portions of the day. I also cannot do that adequately if he is under the influence of others who do not think as I do or who do not share my values or who do not follow the One True God…Yahweh…and His Son Yeshua…as I do.

Those are reasons enough. However, even if I was not a follower of my Creator I would not have my son in public school. Every time I read about another school incident…whether it is an outright violent one…or a bully getting out of hand…or a teacher acting as a predator toward a student…I am grateful that I know my son is safe at home with me. Adults have more rights and protections in the workplace than our children do in the schools. How sad.

In addition there is the deplorable educational levels in a lot of the schools.. Granted, it is not in all of them…but it is in enough of them. That is why there are so many children in private schools…both religious and secular.

The following articles and video give some other reasons for not sending my children to public…aka “government” school.

Christians called to abandon public education

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Christians called to mass exodus from public schools

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

