Skip to content

Food Poisoning & a Heart Attack Scare!

December 3, 2008

Well, Monday night, all three of us came down with food poisoning. It was not fun! Poor Dave, since he got hit the least hard, did a lot of “bowl” duty. On Tuesday, he dragged himself in to his second day of work on a new job. He made it through, though.

So far as I know, this is the only time I have had food poisoning. Although the guys were already not feeling too great, I am the one who really got hit first…and the hardest, with Elias coming in a close second. The indigestion part of it hit so hard and so fast that I thought I might have been having a heart attack. The symptoms of heart attack are different for women than men. I took an aspirin, just in case.

Once I started losing my “cookies” and it helped me to feel a little bit better, we decided that it was not a heart attack. After that, it just kept going…the stomach thing, I mean. I don’t which was worse, the throwing up…or the awful feeling in between. It is amazing to me how long it lasted. I mean, goodness, I wasn’t eating anything! My body was working very hard to get every last bit of poison out!

It got me thinking…about spiritual poison. YHWH God is always trying to get the spiritual poison out of us. Are we co-operating? Or are we just putting more in? Am I working as hard to rid myself of the spiritual poisons of this world as my body worked to rid itself of the food poisons?

I am going to be a lot more cautious about our food preparation. Will I work just as hard to prevent spiritual poisoning as I will to prevent food poisoning? These are things I think I need to look at. This body is temporary. The spirit is eternal. I need to take good care of this body, which will someday be replaced. Even more so, I need to take good care of my spirit, which is everlasting.

We all have an everlasting spirit. The question is…will it go on to everlasting life? Or to everlasting death? I know in Whom I have placed my spiritual care and wellbeing. I know in Whom I have trusted…YHWH and His Son, Yeshua/Jesus. What about you? Yeshua said that He was the only way to the heavenly Father. Either He was a liar or a madman…or He was telling the truth. If He is not the only way, then His suffering and death was for nothing and He is to be pitied rather than worshiped.

Life is not a game to be played. The consequences are not just for a moment…just until the next time. Once this world is done…it is done. There will be a new one made and we will either have everlasting life within it…or be in everlasting death.

What are you headed for? Do you know? Are you sure? Please check it out. The evidence for a creator is there for anyone with eyes to see and a heart to receive it. Please do not harden your heart against God. Please consider carefully your spiritual condition!

From our little RV on the hillside, I hope that you will all remember the reason for the coming season…it is to celebrate the birth of Yeshua/Jesus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

