Skip to content

Ads for Unfaithfulness?

November 18, 2008

OK. Call me ignorant, naive or whatever you want, but I just don’t get this. I am referring to something I read the other day. It was a link from a news story to a blog. The title piqued my curiosity, so I went for it.

This woman wrote her thoughts about a news story she had read. Apparently, there are two radio stations in Boston running ads for a website dating service…for married people. Yep! You read that right. It is a dating service for those who want to have an affair!

She writes, “It’s a tragic sign of our times that such a website exists, and has 2.7 million members.” I agree. It IS a pretty tragic sign and certainly does not bode well for our nation.

She is understandably bothered by this, but here’s the part I don’t get.

Now, bear with me here and don’t jump to conclusions before you hear me out. She continues, “But running radio and TV commercials advertising the website and its services is an entirely different matter, in my opinion.  Imagine children hearing and seeing such ads which make a joke out of the sanctity of marriage.  The line should be drawn at promoting adultery on radio and television. ”

Now, seriously folks, I can totally understand why these kinds of ads are running. It is no surprise to me that this is happening. Note, please, that I did NOT say that I approve…or that I think it is a good idea! I am just not surprised, nor am I shocked…by the ads that is.

What does surprise me is her final comment about how a line should be drawn. That is the part I don’t get. Isn’t it a bit late to be talking about lines being drawn? With rare exceptions, I have not watched TV in a very long time. Our TV is used for quality videos that educate our son and uphold the sanctity of marriage and family values. On those rare occasions when we travel, I do watch it in hotels, but that is rare…and it typically reminds me of why I curtailed watching it years ago.

As long time ago, we pretty much stopped watching TV, other than the news. We watched a few things, but it became less and less. Why? We stopped watching at first because of how so many shows promoted lifestyles that were dishonoring to our Creator in their promotion of adultery and many other ungodly behaviours. We did not want to see those things, nor did we want our son seeing them. We found that even the good shows oftentimes had tasteless commercials. We eventually switched to other news sources for the same reason. Naturally, when our Satellite dish (which we used for free “Christian” programming) was stolen, it became even easier to stay away from the tube.

I don’t know. Maybe she lives in Arkansas where the “Safe TV” channel was (and hopefully still is). Don’t get me wrong. I am not saying that there are no good shows on, just that most of what I saw on there many years ago promoted godless value systems and I don’t think it is getting any better. So why this idea that a line should be drawn over these ads? These ads are simply a reflection of a world that has gone farther and farther downhill.

I truly believe that, if all those who are bothered by godless programming would stop watching and write letters to the companies explaining why they are no longer watching, that the programming would change. They make money on commercials. If no one is watching the programming, no one is watching the commercials.

Then again, if people stopped watching, maybe they would find that there are so many better things in life to do than watch TV! That is what we found. Our family reads books, both alone and together. We discuss things and watched an occasional video together. We work on projects. Who has time for TV?

So, I guess my question is, if your children are watching TV at all, are you so sure that they are not already watching things that make a joke out of marriage, along with making a joke out of parenting, godliness and “Christianity”? It is something to think about. These ads are not the beginning of a downhill slide in the media. No. I think they are more reflective of how far down the slide the media has already gone.

Everything that is happening is a result of what is in the hearts of people. They need to honor God with both their hearts and their actions.

I truly hope this woman keeps speaking out about this kind of thing … and I hope that others raise their voices, too. Most of all, I hope we all drop to our knees and cry out to our Creator for forgiveness for allowing this kind of stuff in our homes and hearts. So many of us in this country have been focused on our selves and on being entertained rather than on our real purpose for being here.

I find it very sad that more voices were not raised a long, long time ago. I guess it is better late than never.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

