Skip to content

Winter Is On It’s Way & Ramblings!

November 12, 2008

The weather is getting colder again. It still isn’t too bad, but the days are also getting shorter. Those are the times when being in the RV starts to feel especially small and a bit closed in.

God has brought us through these years in the RV…three years coming up on December 1. He has been faithful to sustain us, even when it was really hard to be living this way. I know that I could not have done it without Him. He is my strength when I think I just cannot do the next thing in front of me to do.

Most of the time I am OK, but there are times, especially when one of us is sick…or in the winter when it gets dark and cold, that it can be extra hard. Will be we be spending another winter in our RV? I don’t know. We are amazed at how hard a group of people have been working to try to raise the funds to get us into a used single wide trailer. I call them “insta-homes”!

It would be really nice to have a place to have an “insta-home” to unpack our belongings into. It would be nice to be able to say “hello” to clothes I have not seen in a couple of years…and to find out what has survived being stored in our “box”.

We just want whatever God wants for us. I know that some people have difficulty with that. They do not understand why we trust Him…or even why we believe He exists. They believe God is either a myth or He is an entity that cares little for our wellbeing. After all, if He did care, why would He have us in this tiny RV for so long?

Well, I don’t see it that way. I ask the bigger question. Why am I here? There is a Creator out there. He made it all…everything we can see and everything we can’t see. I answer to Him. I know who He is. I know that He loves me. If He did not love me, He would not have gotten me through this. He would not have gotten any of us through this.

We have learned some important lessons in all of this. We are less judgmental, for one thing. More empathetic and, hopefully, more compassionate. I know that there are many lessons we have learned, but the most important one is learning…again…just how much we can trust and rely upon Him. He is faithful to show Himself and His love to us.

Well, I know I am rambling a bit here. I am tired and so am a bit foggy brained. I am always hesitant to publish when I am so foggy, but I’ll give it a go.

Even with the fogginess, this I know. I love God and He loves me. He is the Creator and I am the Created. I owe everything I have and am to Him. He has blessed me in so many ways, starting with creating me and forgiving me of all the wrong things I have done and thought (my sin). I don’t know why God would love me so much that He would send His Son to pay such a heavy price for my sinfulness, but He does. For that I am grateful…and very much in His debt.

From our little RV on the hillside to you, wherever you are…I hope that you can see, accept and embrace all that your Creator has done for you. I hope that you can find forgiveness and peace in Him as we have.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

